Maple Grove Fro-Yo Tasting, Take 2

6 Jun

Fro Yo Information: Take 2

We were eating dinner another random night and I had the idea to go to frozen yogurt place #2. Oddly enough, we were eating dinner at the same restaurant that we had the night we decided to go to the first fro-yo joint. Hmm…maybe mexican makes me crave fro-yo? Anywho…

Tonight we ventured to main street Maple Grove to Tutti Frutti.

As soon as we walked into the store, I immediately felt relief that this fro-yo shop was much easier on my eyes and it wasn’t some sort of industry standard to have loud, obnoxiousness furniture and colors like the first place. Whew. I quite enjoyed the atmosphere – but I could have still been on a great high from hearing “throwback to the 90’s” music in the car on the way there. Although it was obvious that the place was hopping and popular…the crowd was kinda annoying to me us (to be fair, it was a Friday night). They had ample seating inside, but the crowd spilled outside to some tables/chairs there. We eventually ended up on a bench along Main Street due to not wanting to be around all the high schoolers – but that’s OK.

We didn’t receive the same sort of one-on-one attention that we did at Cherry Berry, but since we’re seasoned pros at this point, we got right on with it. Before getting into line, we were pleasantly surprised to see a “flavor of the day” board that also included “employee favorites” – which I can always appreciate! Additionally, Nick’s interest was piqued when he saw that one flavor of the day was SOY frozen yogurt! Ta-da!

The frozen yogurt flavor options seemed a bit fewer than #1 – but I didn’t mind since I was immediately drawn towards the salted caramel “pump.” I filled up with just that flavor, while Nick did half red velvet and half coffee. The toppings were not as expansive – but again, I was OK with that since all I wanted was some chocolate chips, peanut m&ms (addmittadly, not to go with the yogurt, but just because I love them. :)) and – as a big surprise – pieces of waffle cone! I LOVE waffle cones, so I got pretty stoked about this and piled them on. Nick added mini chocolate chips to his coffee and cheesecake bites to his red velvet – how appropriate. We paid, noticed that they also sell bigger portions to take home and got to tasting.

We both concluded that we enjoyed the overall experience here better than #1, and although the options were fewer – they still contained ones that would keep us coming back. All flavors and toppings were to our liking and we were happy campers.

Tutti Frutti
ambiance: easy-going
toppings: good variety, including some personal favs
flavor variety: satisfactory
customer service: OK
price: (nick, do you remember??)

One Response to “Maple Grove Fro-Yo Tasting, Take 2”

  1. snarkydabbler June 6, 2012 at 9:04 pm #

    I wanted to try it out, but Mark wanted “real” ice cream. The Yogurt Lab in uptown is pretty good, but always super crowded with only 5 or 6 tiny tables inside.

Leave a comment